Norcal PTACNorthern California Procurement Technical Assistance Center

Woman-Owned Small Business Certifications

Starting on July 15, 2020, the certification process for Women-Owned Small Businesses (WOSBs) and Economically Disadvantaged WOSBs (EDWOSBs) will begin to change as SBA implements Congress’ changes to the Women-Owned Small Business Federal Contracting Program (WOSB Federal Contracting Program), as put forth in the 2015 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA).

These new regulations make it easier for qualified small businesses to participate in the WOSB Federal Contracting Program by improving the customer experience. At the same time, the SBA is strengthening oversight and maintaining the integrity of the certification process.

The Woman-Owned Small Business Federal Contracting Program (WOSB) was designed to level the playing field for women business owners, specifically creating contracts set-aside for those industries that are underrepresented by women. Some contracts are restricted further to Economically Disadvantaged Women-Owned Small Businesses (EDWOSB). The SBA maintains a list of those eligible industries and their NAICS codes.

Check out this Preparation Checklist HERE.

Joining the women’s contracting program makes your business eligible to compete for federal contracts set aside for the program. You can still compete for contract awards under other socio-economic programs you qualify for.

The full eligibility requirements for WOSB and EDWOSB are outlined here: Title 13 Part 127 Subpart B of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).  The following are the minimum eligibility requirements:

To be eligible as a WOSB, your business must:

  • Be a  small business as indicated by the NAICS size standard chart
  • Be at least 51% owned and controlled by women who are U.S. citizens
  • Women must manage the day-to-day operations and make long-term decisions

To be eligible as an EDWOSB, your business must:

  • Meet all requirements of the women-owned contracting program
  • Be owned and controlled by one or more women, each with a personal net worth less than $750,000 and adjusted gross income average of $350,000 over the previous three years.
  • Applicant(s) must have $6 million or less in personal assets

Two Certification Options:

Option One:

Self-certify at website by answering questions and uploading the required documents. Please review the document checklists before starting the process.

Option Two:

Third-party certification is offered by the following SBA-approved organizations.  Please contact these organizations directly for requirements.



You’ll need to have an active profile at before you can use the SBA’s certification website or become registered through an SBA-approved TPA.


Get free guidance from our specialists

To receive one-on-one counseling, complete our online application and a member of Norcal PTAC will follow-up with you and help you achieve your procurement goals.
English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

This procurement technical assistance center is funded in part through a cooperative agreement with the Defense Logistics Agency