8(a) Business Development Program

The 8(a) Program offers a broad scope of assistance to firms that are owned and controlled at least 51% by socially and economically disadvantaged individuals.

Participation in the program is divided into two phases over nine years: a four-year developmental stage and a five-year transition stage.

  • Eligibility Requirements

  • How to Apply

    To get certified as an 8(a) business, simply use the certify.SBA.gov website. You’ll need to have a profile at SAM.gov before you can use the certification website. The information you’ll need to provide will vary based on your business structure and whether you’re already participating in other SBA programs.

    After you successfully complete your certification process through certify.SBA.gov, you should update your business profile at SAM.gov to show contracting officers that your business is in the 8(a) program.

    You’ll receive a letter in the mail informing you if your application was approved or not. If you’re accepted into the program, your profile in the Dynamic Small Business Search will show your approval date and exit date for the program.


  • Mentor-Protégé Program


Questions? Watch our webinar or apply today for no-cost one on one support from one of our Procurement Specialists.

Get free guidance from our specialists

To receive one-on-one counseling, complete our online application and a member of Norcal PTAC will follow-up with you and help you achieve your procurement goals.
English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

This procurement technical assistance center is funded in part through a cooperative agreement with the Defense Logistics Agency