Being certified as a “small business” is only significant if you’re interested in government contracting. Why? Because there are certain set-asides that the government must adhere to when they’re looking to buy goods or services – there’s a percentage of business set aside for different kinds of companies, including small businesses. (Others include women-owned, veteran-owned, etc.) So if you want to be a contender in the federal marketplace, your small business has to meet official criteria to be eligible for government contracts:​

8(a) Business Development Program

For socially and economically disadvantaged individuals. 

Learn More

HUBZone Program

Small businesses in urban and rural communities gain preferential access to federal procurement opportunities.

Learn More

Woman-Owned Small Business (WOSB)

Enables WOSBs to compete for federal contracts that are set-aside for WOSBs in industries where women-owned small businesses are underrepresented.

Learn More

Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Businesses

Provide procuring agencies with the authority to set acquisitions aside for exclusive competition among service-disabled veteran-owned small business concerns, as well as the authority to make sole source awards to service-disabled veteran-owned small business concerns if certain conditions are met. 

Learn More

Small Disadvantaged Businesses

Small businesses can self-represent their status as a small disadvantaged business (SDB).

Learn More

Get free guidance from our specialists

To receive one-on-one counseling, complete our online application and a member of Norcal PTAC will follow-up with you and help you achieve your procurement goals.
English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

This procurement technical assistance center is funded in part through a cooperative agreement with the Defense Logistics Agency